Uncategorized

The Best Laid Plans…

Remember how at the end of July I set myself two challenges? To Actively participate in ARC August and reread the Harry Potter Series?

Well… I’m here to confess that life got on top of me this month. I was crazy busy at work (I had three programs, have taken on the selection duties for the 800s, am working on launching three more programs, and became the head of interlibrary loans for the whole library), I started prepping for two plays (I’m directing The Foreigner at McHenry County College and co-producing Little Women for TownSquare Players in Woodstock, IL), and of course during all this a depressive episode came roaring into town. So saying that I was “unmotivated” to stick to my plans is a bit of an understatement.

But here goes…

A Super General Update:

  • My ARCs are still out of control, I only managed to read And the Ocean was Our Sky.
  • My reread has stalled a little. I made it into Order of the Phoenix and hit a wall.
  • I am however sticking to my book buying ban.

Right now I’m reading Meg, Jo, Beth, Amy: The Story of Little Women and Why it Still Matters by Anne Boyd Rioux, and it is making me all kinds of nostalgic for all things Alcott.

I’m thinking my next book might be my ARC of Sawkill Girls by Clare Legrande, which I was just approved for.., but I’m not making any promises.

Leave a comment