I did a bad, bad thing…

Waaaaaay back in June I began a “Book Buying Ban” that would end on my birthday (September 11th…Virgos amiright?!). All was going to plan, I was surviving on Book of the Month and Owlcrate and the fact that I work in a library and am literally surrounded by books all day everyday. I felt no reason spend my hard earned money on books I didn’t have time to read…

Then this week happened. Nothing particularly bad  happened, but I fell under a tough depressive episode and when that happens one of my coping methods is buying books. 

I look to books to take me away from myself when I get like this and when the books I have aren’t doing the job I find myself on Amazon with a cart full of books that spark the slightest interest, or in the middle of a Barnes & Noble arms loaded. 

I don’t do it often, but this week…well really the last few weeks…have been particularly tough. And well… this happened:

I broke my ban and bought a ton of books. I’m excited for the new additions to the family, but my wallet is sad.

Also, I know it’s no excuse, but my mental and emotional state have made it difficult to keep up with the blog, but I feel like I’m on an upswing so I should be back to posting regularly fairly soon!

1 thought on “I did a bad, bad thing…”

  1. Where others buy shoes and clothes as therapy; we just need our books. Honestly, I get where you’re coming from. I’ve put myself on a book buying ban time and time again, but as soon as I feel myself going downwards.. Well, let’s just say that BookDepository and Amazon are opened without me even realizing it properly.
    Not to mention the times I was supposed to go home after work “immediately” and ended up going to every single bookstore in the city.

    Hope you’ll feel better soon! And enjoy those books. 🙂 I read Spellbook of the Lost & Found and really enjoyed it!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

